Is Vodka Gluten Free? (Everything You Need To Know)

Image of diy distilling is vodka gluten free is vodka sugar free is vodka vegan

With a rise in health awareness in modern times, it’s no wonder we are curious about what is and isn’t gluten-free (regardless of whether they are celiac, sensitive, or just making better health decisions for themselves).

It’s important to know exactly what you can drink (without anxiety) and what you should avoid.

Beer, of course, is off-limits to gluten-intolerant people. But what about spirits like Vodka?

Read More: Check out our other articles on whether or not a spirit is gluten-free:

Why Listen To Us? Our team of writers have more than 16 years of distilling experience between them. We've written These Books, designed the perfect Hobby Still, and have helped over 100+ amature distillers through our Ask The Expert portal. 

Is Vokda gluten free?

Vodka is made by distilling often gluten-containing grains such as barley, rye, and wheat. Since vodka is distilled, all of the gluten protein is left behind in the still, and none makes it to the final product.

Vodka is also safe for those with Celiac Disease, according to the Celiac Disease Foundation.

Even though the vodka in question is derived from gluten-containing grains like wheat, rye, or barley, the allergen is removed during the distillation process. You can credit science for this occurrence. Alcohol is isolated from everything else in the mash when distilling a grain (or potatoes, or fruit, or anything). This alcoholic vapor passes through the still and condenses on the other side into a liquid. The only thing left after this process is pure alcohol – all traces of gluten and sugar are gone.

Does vodka contain sugar?

Vodka, gin, whiskey, and even rum are distilled spirits that do not include any sugars unless they are added in after the distillation process (see the paragraph about flavored vodkas at the bottom). Therefore, most vodkas are 100% sugar-free!

When it comes to spirits, it’s more about what they’re blended with. It will only contain a certain amount of sugar once it is flavored and mixed with other drinks.

This can be a bit confusing since Vodka is made by fermenting large amounts of sugar extracted from starch sources like wheat, barley and potatoes. In fact, it takes roughly a kilogram (2.25lbs) of sugar to make just one bottle of vodka.. so how is this possible?

  • First, the fermentation process allows yeast to convert most of the sugar in the wash into alcohol. This typically converts about 80%-90% of the sugar, leaving behind only the complex long-chain polycaccarides which the yeast can’t eat.
  • Next, the distillation process boils the wash and evaporates the alcohol. This is often repeated many times, or performed in a reflux still (which does multiple distillations simultaneously) to ensure only the purest alchol is produced. It is then collected seperatly and bottled as Vodka! Any sugar is left behind in the boiler of the still and thrown away once the process is finished.

But, while it’s true that most traditional vodkas are sugar-free, some contemporary vodka styles actually add sugar back in after distillation. Flavored vodkas, particularly those such as fruit vodkas often have a small amount of sugar added back in to enhance the flavor. Some do, and some don’t, so check the label or talk to the distillery.

Does vodka contain dairy?

Spirits derived from fermented milk have traditionally been distilled all over the world. Despite its rarity today, certain distillers are resurrecting this forgotten art to create vodkas- and, predictably, these spirits have also made their way into gin. Some distilleries repurpose byproducts from the dairy industry.

Cheese is created from curds, however, whey is mostly a waste product in the cheese making process. Brewers could use it as a source of ferment to create a vodka or gin base spirit, however once again there is no dairy in the final product.

Is vodka vegan?

*Most* vodka is a vegan beverage, however as mentioned above, it’s important to check how the neutral base spirit is made.

Most Vodka distilleries buy in their neutral spirit (think ethanol and water) and this is often from the cheapest source locally available.

In the United States, for example, this is typically fermented from corn as this is a cheap starch source. This will result in a completely vegan vodka.

Here in New Zealand however, we have a large dairy industry, and most neutral spirit is derived from fermented milk whey. This means any vodka made from this base spirit isn’t actually vegan!

Is there some vodka that is not vegan?

Although most Vodkais vegan, animal products are rarely used in the filtering process of vodkas, unlike wine and beer, so you don’t need to worry about finings like gelatin.

Certain flavored vodkas may contain honey, and other animal products may be utilized in the manufacturing of vodka on rare occasions, so if in doubt , check with manufacturer

Is flavored vodka gluten free?

Vodka is a popular choice among coeliacs, despite the fact that it is often prepared from distilled rye, wheat, or barley spirit. Some flavored vodkas may include gluten-containing substances or have come in contact with gluten.

It’s always recommended to check the product label, or manufacturer if you’re not sure.

Does flavored vodka contain sugar?

While it is uncommon for producers to add sugar to classic-style gins, it is not uncommon for flavored gins to do so. There are examples of gins with significant sugar content, particularly in gins flavored with harsh or acidic ingredients like rhubarb or berries. According to a 2019 MailOnline article, certain popular flavored gins can contain up to 15 teaspoons of sugar per bottle. Concurrently, there are several drier type flavored gins and ‘Pink Gins’ that don’t have any sugar added.

Check the product label or enquire with the manufacturer to be sure if you are trying to restrict sugar or on a ketogenic diet.

Is flavored vodka vegan?

Almost all gins are vegan excluding the cream-based liqueurs and items that include honey on the packaging.


Again, check what base neutral spirit the distillers use as this could be derived from animal milk whey.

Regardless if you are gluten intolerant, vegan, or trying to manage any other dietary requirements, vodka is generally a safe bet when deciding what to drink.

It is very rare for vodka to contain gluten.

Remember that having adverse responses to gluten-containing foods and drinks is fairly typical after going gluten-free, so don’t be shocked if that vodka you often used to adore makes you sick suddenly.

Also, don’t forget to read the labels properly to check for the ingredients used in the vodka (particularly with flavored vodkas) that you take to make sure that it is in conjunction with your diet and preference.

Always consume alcohol in moderation. Although some alcohol may have health benefits, this does not indicate that you should drink it excessively.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *